Monday, March 26, 2012

Comebacks were the Common Theme for the 2012 Myrtle Beach Classic

Pawley Island, South Carolina—Golf Channel Amateur Tour’s inaugural Myrtle Beach Classic concluded on Sunday morning.  The True Blue course continued to be a test of survival while the Caledonia course provided opportunities to score.  Tour Players across all flights battled against these two championship courses, with the top three finishers and ties, per flight, securing their spot in the 2012 National Championship at TPC Sawgrass. 

Javier De Zengotita of Guaynabo, Puerto Rico shot a tournament low round of 71 to overcome a one stroke deficit heading into the final round of the Championship flight on the Caledonia course with a birdie on #12 and #14 to win by two strokes over first round leader Melvin Barnes of Hillsborough, North Carolina.  Donnie Hankins of Tazewell, Virginia matched Barnes’ 74 to finish in third place.

Palmer Flight, Daryl Ewing, shot an 80 to overcome a two shot deficit to win by one shot over first round leader Michael Healey.  David Crowley finished in third place with a final round 84.

Hogan Flight, Matt Bielawa, from Royal Oak, Michigan shot a low round 78 to overcome a two shot deficit from first round leader Forrest Fontana.  Ed Lewis finished in second place shooting a 79 to fall just two strokes behind the winner.  Torben Dileng shot an 84 to secure third place.

In the Sarazen Flight, Russell Kuyawa entered the final round tied with co-leader Ray Kolkmann.  Kuyawa used birdies on #3 and #6 to pull ahead and win by one shot over Kolkmann.  Terry Eggleston finished in third place as Patrick Franklin came from the back of the pack with a final round 76 to finish in fourth place.

Jones Flight, Jody Atkinson was a wire to wire leader as he won the Jones flight over second place finisher Tony Robison and third place finisher Mark Bobak.

Snead Flight, William Campbell won by one shot over first round co-leader Jason Nogin.  Westley Waller shot the low round of the day in the flight by eight shots to finish in third place.

Senior Palmer Flight, Bob Moskovciak overcame a four shot deficit to first round co-leaders James Grindstaff and Gary Morgan to win by four shots over Grindstaff.  Van Stemple finished third.  

Senior Hogan Flight, Christopher Denisar  birdied his first and third hole to come from two strokes behind first round leader David Wachnish to win his first major championship by one shot over Wachnish and two shots over Tom Yeager and Bruce Jones.

Senior Sarazen Flight Larry Outlaw overcame a three shot deficit and followed up his first round 80 with a final round 81 to win by four shots over Jim Craig and Walter White.  First round leader James Kerg could not duplicate his opening round 77 as he slipped to 7th place.

Senior Jones flight, Bubba Atkinson won in a playoff over Tony Parker.  First round leader Daniel Henris and Mike Hasty missed out on the playoff by two shots.

Senior Snead flight, Greg Harris outlasted Danny Souheaver and William Leppert to hold on to a two shot victory for his first two day major championship.  Cordy Worth made improved his score by eight shots to move into fourth place.

A special Thank you goes out to all the players of the Myrtle Beach Classic as they raised $1,440 for the Troops First Foundation.

No comments:

Post a Comment