Saturday, February 4, 2012

Duel in the Desert Crowns 8 Team Champions

Las Vegas, NV – The Golf Channel Amateur Tour held the 9th annual Duel in the Desert golf tournament for the first time in Las Vegas, NV.  2-person teams competed on the Las Vegas Paiute Golf Resort’s three courses (Wolf, Sun Mountain, Snow Mountain) with three different formats of 2-person scramble, best-ball, and modified alternate shot. 

The two-person team of Melvin Barnes and Pete DeTemple roared back in the final round by firing an unbelievable round of 7-under par 75 in the modified alternate shot.  Barnes & DeTemple won by a single shot at 8-under par 208.  Richard Hunt and Paul Jansak led after rounds 1 & 2, and finished up in second place at 7-under par 207.  Cory Gladstone and Joseph Omahen fired the low round on day 2 and wrapped up third place at 3-under par 213. 

In Flight 2 the team of Ron Finnerty and Mark Miller were the only team standing under par at the end of 54-holes to win the flight.  Finnerty and Miller were crowned Flight 2 Champions at 5-under par 211.  Wendall Sheffield and John Taylor fired the low final round in the flight, a 3-under par 69, to grab up 2nd place at even-par 216.  John Crane and Steve Senecal found themselves just a stroke out of 2nd after 54-holes, finishing up in 3rd place at 1-over par 217. 

In Flight 3 Stephan Ballentine and Jon Mojica rode their opening round of 5-under par 67 in the scramble format to the crown, winning wire-to-wire.  Mojica and Ballentine were the only team in the flight to finish under par, winning at 1-under par 215.  The team of Kenneth Griffith and Kevin Macgillivray wrapped up 2nd place at 5-over par 221.  Clint Ball and Darrell Carpenter Jr grabbed 3rd place at 10-over par 226. 

In Flight 4 Clint Jones and Keith Kamimoto led wire-to-wire and won by a full six strokes, finishing up at 3-over par 219.  The team of Gord Salyn and Larry Schlichenmayer shot three straight rounds at 75 to finish up in 2nd place at 9-over par 225.  Robert Kirby and Kendall Utley fired the low final round of 73 to move up to third place in Flight 4 at 12-over par 228. 

The team of Jeremy and Jerry Henson also won wire-to-wire in Flight 5.  The Hensons won the flight by 10 strokes at 11-over par 227.  Ronald Gilchrist and Bob Kirkbright were right there on the final day but faltered a bit with an 84.  They were still able to hang onto 2nd place at 21-over par 237.  Dave Chelf and Arthur Patterson made an eagle 2 (on a par 4 no less) in the final round to vault into third place at 24-over par 240. 

Flight 6 saw some very close competition and a great final round for the flight champions.  David Arnold and Peter Brohn wrapped up the title at 14-over par 230.  Olan Benge and Larry Viktorin had a 1-shot lead heading into the final round but could not keep up with Arnold and Brohn and their outstanding final round.  Benge and Viktorin still had a nice 2nd place finish at 20-over par 236.  Robby Ball and Darrell Carpenter finished in 3rd place in their flight, joining their sons who had the same finish in Flight 3!

Flight 7 saw the closest competition coming down the stretch in the final round, with three teams separated by only three strokes.  In the end Steve Griffin and Randy Tubbs made the key putts down the stretch to claim the flight by just a single stroke.  Griffin and Tubbs won Flight 7 at 28-over par 244.  Simon Tao and Keith Wilson finished up in 2nd place at 29-over par 245.  Robert (Robbie) Burkhart and Joseph Lallier wrapped up third place at 31-over par 247. 

Flight 8 saw a runaway, with Matt McDevitt and Mark Sasser winning by 14 shots.  McDevitt and Sasser won wire-to-wire at 20-over par 236.  The competition for second place was an exciting one, with the team of Gary Balavitch and Bryan Mathis taking home runner-up honors at 34-over par 250.  Donald Bouge and Daniel Carroll rounded out the top three at 37-over par 253. 

Thank you to the 288 competitors that teed it up in the 9th annual Duel in the Desert!

No comments:

Post a Comment